Every year more than 160,000 children are born worldwide with cleft lip and/or cleft palate.  in India alone 35,000 children have this malformation, this means 1:600 new born babies. There is a lot of discussion about the reasons, but no real possibility of prevention has been discovered so far. 

In most countries these children are seen as a punishment from god. Therefore they are often hidden or even killed at birth by their parents . Many times the mother is held responsible by the community while fathers do not take responsibility. But the good news is: help for these children can be very simple and easy and is not that expensive. 

Cleft lip and palate are the most frequent malformation for children in their faces. These children have a fissure that often runs all the way from the nose to the back of the palate. It first and foremost looks very ugly and therefore leads to social isolation. 



DO YOU WANT TO HELP?

CLEFT LIP AND PALATE

CLEFT LIP BEFORE

Due to the cleft palate children often cannot speak properly. Therefore they are excluded from the social community and despite normal intelligence they do not attend school. This leads to them being driven into isolation. They suffer tremendously on a psychological level by not being able to live a normal life. 

 

In addition to the psychological issues other related health issues such as malnutrition are additional problems. Newborns can often not be breastfed and suffer malnutrition as well as pneumonia. They might also have hearing difficulties due to frequent ear infections. 

CLEFT PALATE BEFORE

AFTER THE  SURGERY

© 2021 by Laki Kids eV.

Postal address

Hohenfriedbergstr. 11 A,  10829 Berlin, Germany

Jedes Jahr kommen 160000 Kinder mit Lippen-Kiefer-Gaumenspalte auf die Welt, alleine in Indien sind es jährlich 35.000. Die Inzidenz bei Neugeboren beträgt  durchschnittlich 1:600.  Man diskutiert viele mögliche Ursachen, hat aber noch keine Möglichkeit der Prävention gefunden.

In den meisten Ländern werden diese Kinder als Strafe Gottes betrachtet. Sie werden daher aus Scham versteckt, manchmal nach der Geburt getötet. Die Mutter wird häufig für die Missbildung verantwortlich gemacht, Väter entziehen sich nicht selten der Verantwortung- und dabei könnte man so einfach helfen!

Lippen-Kiefer-Gaumenspalten sind die häufigste Missbildung bei Kindern im Gesicht. Früher nannte man sie Hasenscharte und Wolfsrachen. Diese Kinder haben eine Spalte, die in den meisten Fällen von der Nase bis zum Zäpfchen reicht. Die Lippenspalte sieht in erster Linie sehr unschön aus und führt zu einem sozialen Stigma. 



MÖCHTEN SIE HELFEN?

LIPPEN-KIEFER-GAUMENSPALTEN 

LIPPENSPALTE VORHER

Die Gaumenspalte verhindert zusätzlich, dass die Kinder richtig sprechen können und führt so zu sozialer Isolation. Trotz normaler Intelligenz gehen sie oft nicht in die Schule  und sind so von der normalen Gesellschaft ausgeschlossen. 

Nach der Geburt können die Kinder nur erschwert an der Mutterbrust trinken, sie leiden unter Unterernährung, ständigen Lungenentzündungen, das Gehör verschlechtert sich durch häufige Mittelohrentzündungen und natürlich leiden sie psychisch darunter, ein Leben abseits der normalen Gesellschaft zu führen. 

GAUMENSPALTE VORHER

NACH DER OP

© 2020 by Laki Kids e.V.. 

Postanschrift:

Hohenfriedbergstr. 11 A,  10829 Berlin