WhatsApp Image 2021-02-03 at 03.35.52 (1

Corona Relief:

INDONESIA 2021

Due to Corona, no further operations are possible this year. Therefore, we can unfortunately only continue to help from afar. We will therefore continue our support with food in order to alleviate at least a little of the hardship caused by the virus for the families who are already living at the subsistence level. If it is possible for us, we will also support further projects. 

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-20 at 10.39.02 (2

Corona relief:

INDONESIA 2020

Due to Corona and the related travel restrictions, we are not able to do any operations. So we decided to support children in need and their families. In Indonesia we distributed food to urban families in very desperate financial situations. They often lost all the small jobs due to the corona lock downs. 

DSC04156.jpeg

PAKISTAN 2020

Every year, 9,000 children with cleft lip and palate are born in Pakistan. The high number is due to the fact that weddings within families are still a tradition. So far, only 3000 children have had the chance to be operated on each year. In February 2020 an exciting mission took me to Naushero Feroz in the province of Sindh. Everything is very poor there, there is no hotel, the hospital seems deserted at first glance. But thanks to the incredible hospitality of the Pakistani team and the extremely nice and efficient collaboration their boss Dr. Ashraf Ganatra we managed to operate 65 partially very small and malnourished patients in only 2 days. 

DSC03602.jpg

BANGLADESH

20 children were operated through the support of LaKi Kids. The location of our mission was Bajitpur, a small village 3 hours north of Dhaka. There, everyone is poor: People are extremely thin, the hospital, a huge Medical College, is an extremely basic facility. Hygienic conditions are not up to western standards. But the people are very nice, and we really had the feeling we were helping them. 

DSC03894.jpg

MALAWI

Another missions took place in Malawi, a small country in southern Africa. The medical conditions in this country are very underdeveloped. There is only one radiologist in the whole country. I was especially touched by the fate of little Mitra, who already drank from her mother's breast only a few minutes after waking up from the narcosis. 

Panda Projekt Logo.jpeg

ROMANIA

We sponsored several participants of a half marathon. For every kilometer that the participants ran we gave money to the local NGO PANDA, which supports childrens' hospitals with donations in kind. 

irak Dieter mit Patienten.jpg

IRAQ AND PALESTINE

In 2016 we worked a lot in both Iraq and in Palestine. In both countries our help was extremely appreciated. 

DSC01877.JPG

PERU

One of our main countries has been Peru. Here we worked specifically in the towns of Cajamarca and Chiclayo. This is a big contrast. We help Indian children with a team of peruvian surgeons. In Peru a lot more cleft children are born than can be operated on every year. This is due to the fact that most doctors work in the big cities, while there are no specialist surgeons working in the countryside. Especially in the mountain areas in heights of 3000 to 4000m the number of cleft children is very high. 

DSC09341.jpg

INDONESIA

The very first LaKi Kids mission took place in Indonesia. Dr. Lamlé flew with a small team of Indonesian doctors to Timor. An incredible trip. The conditions in the hospital can only be described as adventurous. Nearly everything was missing. The health condition of the population is quite bad and due to very traditional structures such as in-family marriages the percentage of cleft children is quite high. But I have hardly every operated in a country where our help was more need than here. The patients and their parents were extremely grateful. 

© 2021 by Laki Kids eV.

Postal address

Hohenfriedbergstr. 11 A,  10829 Berlin, Germany

WhatsApp Image 2020-05-20 at 10.39.02 (2

Corona-Hilfe:

INDONESIEN 2020

Durch Corona und die damit verbundenen Reiseeinschränkungen können wir momentan nicht operieren und unterstützen deshalb gezielt bedürftige Kinder und ihre Familien. In Indonesien haben wir Lebensmittel an urbane Familien verteilt, die oft sehr prekäre  Einkommensverhältnisse haben und denen durch den Virus die Existenzgrundlage entzogen worden ist. Weitere Projekte dieser Art werden folgen. 

DSC04156.jpeg

PAKISTAN 2020

Jedes Jahr werden in Pakistan 9000 Kinder mit Lippen-Kiefer-Gaumenspalten geboren. Die hohe Anzahl erklärt sich daraus, dass innerfamiliäre Hochzeiten immer noch Tradition sind. Bisher haben nur 3000 Kinder pro Jahr die Chance operiert zu werden. Im Februar 2020 hat mich eine aufregende Mission nach Naushero Feroz in der Provinz Sindh geführt. Alles ist dort sehr arm, es gibt kein Hotel, das Krankenhaus scheint auf den ersten Blick verlassen.  Aber dank der unglaublichen Gastfreundschaft des pakistanischen Teams und der extrem netten und effizienten Zusammenarbeit mit ihrem Leiter Dr. Ashraf Ganatra gelang es uns, in 2 Tagen 65 teilweise sehr kleine und unterernährte Patienten zu operieren. 

DSC03602.jpg

BANGLADESCH

20 Kinder wurden hier mit der Hilfe von LaKi Kids operiert. Der Ort unseres Einsatzes war Bajitpur, ein kleines Dorf 3 Stunden nördlich von Dhaka. Alles ist dort arm: die Leute sind sehr dünn, das Krankenhaus (ein riesiges Medical College!) ist erbärmlich ausgestattet, die hygienischen Verhältnisse katastrophal- und trotzdem, die Leute sind soo nett, und man hat das Gefühl, wirklich helfen zu können.

DSC03894.jpg

MALAWI

Ein Einsatz fand in Malawi, einem kleinen Staat im Süden Afrikas, statt. Das Land ist medizinisch so unterentwickelt, dass es in dem ganzen Land z.B. nur einen Radiologen gibt. Hier hat mich vor allem das Schicksal der kleinen Mtira berührt, die kurz nach dem Aufwachen schon an der Mutterbrust trinken konnte.

Panda Projekt Logo.jpeg

RUMÄNIEN

Hier haben wir mehrere Teilnehmer eines Halbmarathons gesponsert. Jeder gelaufene Kilometer brachte mehr Geld für die lokale Non-Profit Organisation PANDA, die Kinderkrankenhäuser mit Sachspenden unterstützt.

irak Dieter mit Patienten.jpg

IRAK UND PALÄSTINA

2016 haben wir schwerpunktmäßig sowohl im Irak als auch in Palästina gearbeitet. In beiden Ländern wurde unsere Hilfe sehr dankbar angenommen. 

DSC01877.JPG

PERU

Eines unserer Einsatzländer ist Peru. Hier waren wir bisher insbesondere in den Städten Cajamarca und Chiclayo tätig. Totales Kontrastprogramm. Indiokinder, peruanisches Team- auch hier haben wir einigen  Kindern helfen können! Auch in Peru werden jedes Jahr viel mehr Spaltkinder geboren als von den lokalen Chirurgen operiert werden können. Denn diese sind meist in den Grosstädten tätig, während es auf dem Land gar keine spezialisierten Ärzte gibt. Besonders in den Bergregionen, wo die Bevölkerung häufig in 3000-4000 m Höhe lebt, ist die Anzahl der Kinder mit Lippenspalten besonders hoch.

DSC09341.jpg

INDONESIEN

Der  erste Laki-Kids - Einsatz fand in Indonesien statt. Ich bin mit einem kleinen Team indonesischer Ärzte nach Timor geflogen. Eine unglaubliche Operationsreise. Die  Zustände in dem kleinen Krankenhaus waren abenteuerlich. Es fehlte einfach an allem. Die Gesundheitsversorgung ist schlecht und aufgrund der traditionellen Strukturen, zum Beispiel den innerfamiliären Hochzeiten und der Tatsache, dass die Mütter nach der Geburt 4 Wochen lang in einer schmalen Strohhütte mit offenem Feuer und ohne Fenster leben müssen, führt zu einer enorm hohen Anzahl von Spaltkindern.

Aber ich habe selten in einem Land operiert, wo unsere Hilfe so sinnvoll eingesetzt wurde. Da es an allem fehlt, waren die Patienten äußerst dankbar. 

© 2020 by Laki Kids e.V.. 

Postanschrift:

Hohenfriedbergstr. 11 A,  10829 Berlin