Indonesia experience report

I have seldom operated in a country where our aid has been used so effectively. In the absence of everything, the patients were extremely grateful.

Another mission took place in Indonesia in 2016. We supported 30 operations on the island of Flores this year. On this island, which many tourists visit because of the Komodo dragons, there are so many children and adults with harelip and wolf throat living in the mountains, isolated from the world! The people there are really terribly poor, they just manage to feed themselves with their low income and agriculture. They earn an average of 5 euros a day. The children who are born there with a deformity have no future at all and also no opportunity to improve their lives on their own.

We flew from Jakarta to Kupang in Timor, from there to Labuan Bajo in Flores and then drove another 4 hours in a pickup into the mountains. The patients were already waiting for us in the dark, and we examined them immediately. The next day we started operating immediately, 30 patients on three tables, it was unbelievable. With many we closed immediately.

Lips and palate, because you never know whether the children will come back. And not only children came, but also many young men with large, gaping cracks on their faces who had never seen a doctor before.

But especially in such primitive areas, where you reach your limits yourself, it is all the nicer to be able to help people, because there they really need us! And one is all the more happy when some of the children make it after all, like this young man who works in a hotel in Bali. Hardly anyone here sees that they were also born a harelip child!

Indonesien Erfahrungsbericht

Ich habe selten in einem Land operiert, wo unsere Hilfe so sinnvoll eingesetzt wurde. Da es an allem fehlt, waren die Patienten äußerst dankbar.

2016 fand ein erneuter Einsatz in Indonesien statt. 30 Operationen haben wir in diesem  Jahr auf der Insel Flores unterstützt. Auf dieser Insel, die viele Touristen wegen der Komodovarane besuchen, leben abgeschieden von der Welt in den Bergen so viele Kinder und Erwachsene mit Hasenscharten und Wolfsrachen! Die Leute dort sind wirklich furchtbar arm, schaffen es so gerade , sich mit ihren geringen Einkünften und Ackerbau zu ernähren.  Sie verdienen im Schnitt 5 Euro pro Tag. Die Kinder, die dort mit einer Missbildung auf die Welt kommen, haben überhaupt keine Zukunft und auch nicht die Möglichkeit, aus eigener Kraft  ihr Leben zu verbessern.

Wir flogen von Jakarta nach Kupang auf Timor, von dort nach Labuan Bajo auf Flores und fuhren dann noch 4 Stunden in einem Pickup in die Berge hinein. Im Dunkeln warteten schon die Patienten auf uns, die wir auch sofort untersuchten. Am nächsten Tag fingen wir sofort an, zu operieren, 30 Patienten auf drei Tischen, es war unglaublich. Bei vielen verschlossen wir gleich .

Lippe und Gaumen, da man nie weiß, ob die Kinder auch wiederkommen.  Und es kamen nicht nur Kinder, sondern auch viele junge Männer mit großer, klaffender Spalte im Gesicht, die noch nie einen Arzt gesehen hatten.

Aber gerade in so primitiven Gegenden, wo man selber auch an seine Grenzen stößt, ist es umso schöner, den Menschen helfen zu können, denn dort brauchen sie uns wirklich! Und umso mehr freut man sich, wenn manche von den Kindern es dann  doch schaffen, wie dieser junge Mann, der auf Bali in einem Hotel arbeitet. Hier sieht kaum jemand, dass er auch mal als Hasenschartenkind auf die Welt kam!

© 2020 by Laki Kids e.V.. 

Postanschrift:

Hohenfriedbergstr. 11 A,  10829 Berlin